Journey of an Angel in the Sickroom

Posted: April 27, 2013 in Experience, Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

11:11; Meteor Shower; Candle light; 9 Churches; St. Jude; Sto. Niño; Miraculous churches; Sky Lanterns; I did it all for 1 big dream.

4 years ago I had took the challenge of taking up Nursing. Clueless of what a student nurse’s life is, I stood up brave enough to take the entrance exam and interview. When got in, I had to adjust with being away from family, living life independently, and dealing with what they say “HELLa college nursing life in one of the top nursing schools in the Philippines.”

Indeed, 4 years of experience as an angel in the sickroom was never easy. 8 hour duties, readings, drug studies, case studies, it has been a part of my daily routine.

It was a great relief when I first wore my white duty uniform and marched in for my Capping and Pinning ceremony. I was filled with excitement and felt like I AM A NURSE. But when I was then exposed to the clinical area, IT WAS NEVER EASY. It was never easy to adjust your sleep cycle for going with am-pm-night shift duties. It was never easy dealing with different kinds of patients: physically, emotionally, mentally impaired, pedia or adult, awake, half awake, living, dying; and not just patients but as well as dealing with their watchers. It was never easy adjusting to different moods and styles of instructors. It was never easy being scolded for just a 10cc underload of IV fluid. At times it crosses my mind to stop and go for other course but no. I face the everyday challenge because I know what I am experiencing is part of everything. I might encounter a lot of hardships but best part? Being thanked by the patient for being so kind to them, for watching over them, for taking care of them; receiving good grades; learning new things; learning to save a life, it erases the tiring day you had.

4 years. 4 years of sacrifice. April came and I finally graduated, received my diploma, received my professional pin and finally earned the degree of BACHELOR OF SCIENCE IN NURSING. Sacrifices paid off right? I thought that was it yet I remember the biggest challenge and could be the greatest achievement I could have; become a REGISTERED NURSE.

Review season came. I was lucky to be in a good review center offering good program with the best lecturers on earth. Excitement, pressure, butterlies on stomach, I had them. I had that feeling of “I WILL DO EVERYTHING FOR RN IN MY NAME.” and so I did. I might experienced pains in between, my grandmother died, busy schedules, zombie modes for not getting enough break, late night study sessions, failed practice exams, I had them. But it helped me to learn and prepared enough for the 2 day exam.

Sacrifices+bunch of prayers+knowledge+1 big dream. January 30 when results came out. I was in my job interview when the secretary said the results were out. I freaked out and couldn’t catch my breath. I want to scream but I can’t. Tear roll down my face when I finally saw my name on the PRC list of successful examinees during the Nursing Licensure Exam. I didn’t got the job but I got the title I dreamed to have. I then rushed to St. Jude and give thanks.

By then everything was clear. I am destined to be here, I am called by God to become a part of His healing ministry. It’s breathtaking knowing the fact that I finally have 2 letters connected to my name, RN.

Thanksgiving mass, thanksgiving parties, congratulatory messages, proud parents and family. Oathtaking, registration, membership in Philippine Nurses Association, having a “self inking stamp” with my name and license number in it. I then conclude, everything was worth it.

Dream big. Who knows, you can have it. Believe and you will achieve. Best of all, pray and have faith: with God and with yourself.

My journey as a Registered Nurse has officially started. Keeping the faith and continually blessed 🙂

20130427-221213.jpg

20130427-221317.jpg

20130427-221427.jpg

20130427-221459.jpg

20130427-221527.jpg

20130427-221638.jpg

20130427-221717.jpg

Leave a Reply

