Siargao Alone

The world works on a very simple principle: I worked for it; I earned it; I deserve it.

A well deserved break, it is! So finally I got back to this beautiful island and well, for the first time, I went here alone. Yes, ALONE. It was just a spontaneous plan wherein I just booked my flight a week before the planned trip. When I just felt like I just needed to get away and be free from all the toxicity I’ve been through for the past months, I finally had the chance to give time for myself. Also, a birthmonth end trip I always wanted to experience ❤️

So why alone? I guess there is a certain point in a life of an adult wherein we just wanted to explore things and places on our own. When we don’t need to be with someone to make the trip fun. My goal is to just have a soul searching (yes I know its cliche but it literally is) and an opportunity for me to meet new friends as well. Of course my parents didn’t like the idea (alone travel) but I just assured them that I’ll be fine. After all, it’s my third time being in the island and I know I am safe.

Still a lot of people got curious about my “alone” in Siargao trip. Even my seatmate during the flight told “Yawaa sa trip nimo uy”. I know right? But I am confident it’ll be fun. And so it did. I made friends. I may have not been able to visit more tourist destinations than I did before, but finally then I was able to do surfing, which is actually my goal as well. Best thing about being in this kind of trip is being able to connect with different personalities of the different people I have met in this trip. I’ll be sharing the result of my soulsearching and #making friends.

The beautiful island gives you peace and contentment. I have met Clyde in the resort where I stayed and his 9months of stay in this island have taught him what peaceful life really is. Just imagine being away from traffic, pollution and noise. The island gives you a daily dose of beautiful sunrise and sunset, a calm sea in the resort, and the crazy waves at cloud 9. Laidback life is enough for people who can find happiness in simple things. When you decide to be in the island, drop all your worries away and I tell you, you’ll come back as a new person who care less about what awaits you back in the city. A fresh and more relaxed you. No wonder why more and more people from cities began to move in this island for good. Wanna know why? Try to experience it yourself.

There are certain people who are truly happy and doesn’t know how to worry and I wish one day I will be like them. Ben, whom I have met again in the island told me this. He has this certain aura that you could feel he is truly contented and happy with his life and whenever he encounters problems it seems like he can face it with ease and without worries. I am reminded that being human we are bound to encounter difficulties and struggles in our life. It just depends on us on how we face them. And I think Ben is doing such a good job. That shows how he still looks like he is just 20 even though his real age is 40.

When we feel overcome by the troubles of life, we can rest in the knowledge that God, our Lifeguard, sees our struggle and because of His delight in us, watches over and protects us. (Kirsten Holmberg)

And I guess this is what we should always think about. That there is someone up there who will guide and protect us thus we should be still, to continue to be happy and not to worry.

During this trip as well I have met these young adults who became my closest friends. Zeal, Kyra and Benni were in the same table in the bar when we met. I had an instant barkada and they were kind enough to accompany me during the land tour. I reminisce the days when I was their age and all I remember was I am at home who doesn’t go out frequently due to curfew. While here they are, having the time of their lives enjoying the sunshine in the day and the party at night. I envy them. But hell ye, pwede pa naman akong makijoin so why not? 😅 I have been truly blessed to get to know them. They are young, carefree and happy and with them, I felt the same. I have listened to some of their personal stories and shared mine too. When you are an adult and you are with younger people, you get to share wisdom. People of different age have different life experiences and its a blessing to get to know them. I have been able to appreciate the trip more because of them. Instant friends who became my constant friends.

Proverbs 17:17 “A friend loveth at all times, and a brother is born for adversity.”

If there’s anything I noticed about the three of them is the love they have for each other. Their friendship is tested due to distance, and sometimes misunderstanding but at the end of the day, they love each other and they remain to be friends. Love is a trait of a good friend and a good friend will love you at all times and in any situation, good or bad.

Truly, my short stay in the island have been memorable. I wish I could’ve stayed longer but as they say, I can always come back.

Thank you Siargao, Thank you July. You have been truly wonderful. ❤️

Published by

Prinsesa Aryana

An independent woman but my dad's forever little princess. A girl with big dreams, who pursues her dreams, who makes her family the inspiration of her dreams, and who dreams to find love, not the perfect one, just the right one. Aaand, a traveler and adventurer!

Leave a comment